top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSivaji Venkat

Ben Stokes - “You have reached your destination”

I’m done. I can’t play for England anymore - Ben Stokes


Every human being go through a low period in their life which is part and parcel of human existence. However, when a popular person go through such a situation, it magnifies in the eyes of public. In the era of social media, it can make a mountain out of a molehill. When it becomes a public talking point, no matter how much of support in psychiatric and other services one have, they have to go through the ordeal to come clear on the other side. It is like passing through a tunnel feeling anxious to see the the light at the end of the tunnel as they don’t know how long they need to travel in the dark.


It is all about Ben Stokes’s documentary on Prime and it is definitely worth a watch for all sports fans. The documentary epicentres around the mental illness aspect of a sports personnel. My perspective on Ben Stokes has completely changed after I watched it. Ben is a package of talent, helpful team mate and family means everything to him. To keep everything in balance during adverse situations that he had been through is not easy as he is just another human. My respect for Ben has broken the barriers of social media and cricket pundits worthless remarks that I read, heard and believed as he went through the ordeal. I am sure many would have succumbed to the false news and in a way victimised.


In my opinion, I can relate Ben’s documentary release and his recent century against SA is the result of getting off the chest for him. I am sure Ben wouldn’t think that way as a sportsperson.


A big lesson for everyone in my opinion is : People judge all the time, a person with right frame of mind can prove them wrong with their actions. Stoksey is a great example of it and his inspiration is infectious.


Stokes remark on a motorway journey “I’m done” is now the past as he has now travelled beyond. Reached the destination to become the captain of England team.


The message is “You have reached your destination” and more journeys to come by.


Go for it “55”.

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page